8th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup (VWC)

Wednesday, May 20, 2015: Announcement

The ICCF Congress in Bulgaria in 2008 decided that following the great popularity of the first tournament amongst older players, that new Veterans’ World Cups would be started every year. Working in collaboration with ICCF, the English Federation for Correspondence Chess (EFCC) will organise the 8th Veterans’ World Cup tournament.


The first stage of the 8th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup will start on 1st September 2015.


As with the previous VWCs, the event will be organised in three stages which will allow several players from each group stage to advance to the Semi-finals and Final. The number of promotions will depend on total entries received, but it is envisaged that groups at each stage will comprise of 13 players (12 games) played by webserver with a rate of play of 10 moves in 40 days. Playing time in each stage will be about 18 months with a fixed closing date specified at the outset.




The 8th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup is open to all players who are 60 years old or more at the start date of the tournament. Therefore players have to be at least 60 years old on 1st September 2015.




Players may enter:


  • through their National Federations (contact your National Federation for the amount of the entry fee)

  • where eligible, via the ICCF Direct Entry system. The entry fee by Direct Entry will be 15.85.

  • those players holding a free entry who satisfy the eligibility requirement for this event may send their name, date of birth, email address and ICCF ID to the Direct Entry Office email: de@iccf.com


Entries via National Federations should contain the following information for each player:


- Player’s name

- Date of birth

- Email address


- number of entries


Although the number of preliminary groups which each player may enter is unlimited, no player will qualify for more than two Semi-final groups or more than one place in the Final.


Prize fund


A prize fund of €6,000 will be available for this event as agreed at the 2013 ICCF Congress. The exact distribution of this prize fund will be determined once the number of entries and groups are known. Trophies will also be awarded to those finishing in first, second and third place in the Final.




Entries via National Federations should be forwarded by email to the Tournament Organiser Ian M Pheby email: ian.pheby@tiscali.co.uk to reach him before 1st August 2015. It would be appreciated if National Federations would send entries “as received” and not delay them until the closing date.


Closing date for Direct Entries will also be 1st August 2015.


All veteran chess players are heartily invited to enter this tournament, both for the enjoyment of games and for friendly contact/communication with senior players around the World.


National Federations are asked to give the tournament wide publicity to their veteran players.


Markus Hömske                          Frank Geider                                             Richard V M Hall

ICCF Non Title Tournament Commissioner                     ICCF World Tournament Director                          EFCC President


Tournament organisers: Ian M Pheby, Andrew Dearnley

Log in

Forgot password

New Player