“RCCA 20 years” Semifinals

Wednesday, November 5, 2014: Invitation to an international CC Open tournament

Celebrating its 20-year anniversary The Russian Correspondence Chess Association (RCCA) organizes an International Open Tournament. The event is played in three stages: Preliminaries, Semifinals and Final; all stages are played on ICCF web server only. Time control is 40 days for 10 moves at each stage.

Preliminaries. The start date was April,24 2013 which is the day of the RCCA foundation. Play ended on September,30 2014.

Semifinals. The start date is December,20 2014. The semifinals are played in groups of 9-15 players (round robin system). The play is limited by 24 months. Unfinished games are to be adjudicated. Allocation of players to the semifinal groups will be made as random as possible; however, geographical distribution as well as an achievement of reasonable equality of an average rating will be taken into account.

Players having a Title of ICCF GM or ICCF SIM and players rated equal or greater than 2400 (ICCF rating-list 01/10/2014) are allowed to enter to the Semifinals as well as the winners of the Preliminaries.

There is no entry fee for the Semifinals for the winners of the Preliminary stage.

The fee for new entrants at this semi-final stage is 10 Euros or 13 US Dollars. All such fees are to be paid by National Federations to the Event Organisers.

The winner (and maybe a runner-up) of each semifinal group qualifies for the final stage. Other qualifications will depend on the number of entries for the second stage. Any tie breaking, necessary to decide qualification to the next stage will be done in accordance with the ICCF rules principally making use of the number of wins, then the Sonneborn-Berger method.

Final. The start date will be announced later. The Final group is to be started soon after the qualifiers from the Semifinals are determined. The Final is played with 15-17 players (round robin system).

All tournaments will be rated. ICCF title norms will be available in accordance with the ICCF rules.

The three winners of the final stage will be awarded with gold, silver and bronze medals accordingly.


Entry fee must be paid via national correspondence chess federations. For qualified players there are no additional entry fees at semifinal/final stages.

Entries to include

      • first name and surname,

      • date of birth,

      • the ID-number from the ICCF rating system,

      • number of entries,

      • email address

should be submitted via national CC federations. Applications via national correspondence chess federations must reach the CTL not later than November,20 2014, by email at PavlikovAN1976@gmail.com

We ask that first applications should be sent as soon as possible and thereafter on a weekly basis.

We wish all participants many interesting games and new connections with CC friends in other countries based on the spirit of friendship and the ICCF motto:



Grodzensky, Sergey Yakovlevuch, RCCA President

Pavlikov, Andrey Nikolaevich, RCCA Vice-President, Central Tournament Leader, ICCF International Arbiter

Log in

Forgot password

New Player