11th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup (VWC)

Tuesday, April 3, 2018: Announcement

The 2008 ICCF Congress in Bulgaria decided that following the great popularity of the first tournament amongst older players, that new Veterans’ World Cups would be started every year. Working in collaboration with ICCF, the English Federation for Correspondence Chess (EFCC) will organise the 11th Veterans’ World Cup tournament.

The first stage of the 11th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup will start on 1st September 2018.

As with the previous VWCs, the tournament will be organised in three stages which will allow several players from each group stage to advance to the Semi-finals and Final. The number of promotions will depend on total entries received, but it is envisaged that groups at the preliminary stage will comprise of 11 players (10 games) or 13 players (12 games) played by webserver with a rate of play of 10 moves in 40 days. Playing time in each stage will be about 18 months with a fixed closing date specified at the outset.


The 11th ICCF Veterans’ World Cup is open to all players who are 60 years old or more at the start date of the tournament. Therefore players have to be at least 60 years old on 1st September 2018.


Players may enter:

  • through their national federations (contact your national federation for the amount of the entry fee)
  • where eligible, via the ICCF Direct Entry system. The entry fee by Direct Entry will be €14.04 for each preliminary group entered. 


Although the number of preliminary groups which each player may enter is unlimited, no player will qualify for more than two semi-final groups or more than one place in the final.

Prize fund

A prize fund of €6,000 will be available for this tournament as agreed at the 2013 ICCF Congress. The exact distribution of this prize fund will be determined once the number of entries and groups are known. Trophies will also be awarded to those finishing in first, second and third place in the final.


Entries via national federations should be made through the server. It would be appreciated if national federation delegates would approve these entries as soon as possible.  Entries sent by email directly to the tournament organiser will not be accepted after 19th April 2018.

Closing date for Entries is 1st August 2018.

All veteran chess players are heartily invited to enter this tournament, both for the enjoyment of games and for friendly contact/communication with senior players around the world.

National Federations are kindly asked to give the tournament wide publicity to their veteran players.

Russell Sherwood
ICCF Non Title Tournament Commissioner
Frank Geider
ICCF World Tournament Director
Ian M Pheby
EFCC President


Tournament organiser: SIM Ian M Pheby, IA

Log in

Forgot password

New Player