ICCF Diamond Jubilee Postal World Cup 19

Sunday, May 1, 2011: Please see below.



The International Correspondence Chess Federation


ICCF World Cup Diamond Jubilee

World Cup 19 Postal

 “Fritz Baumbach” Cup


The tournament will be played by post and will be organized in two or three stages, depending from the number of the entries.

Groups at each stage will have 11 or 13 players (10 or 12 games).

The event will be rated with title norms, which are usually possible at the semifinal and final stages



Players may enter in the usual way through their National Federations or, where eligible, via the ICCF Direct Entry system

Entries via National Federations should contain player’s name and postal address, ICCF ID and current rating and should be forwarded by Email to the Tournament Organizer, Gian-Maria Tani, (E-mail: gmtani@iccf.com) to reach him before 1st September 2011. It would be appreciated if Federations send entries “as received” and not delay them until closing date.

A player can apply for more than one preliminary group.

Allocation of players to the preliminary and semifinal groups will be made as random as possible; however, geographical distribution as well as an achievement of reasonable equality of the average rating will be taken into account.


Tournament Organization

The tournament will start on 30.10.2011.

Registration will begin on 01.05.2011 and will close on 01.09.2011 to allow for pairings

All preliminary groups will normally finish on 01.09.2013

Any unfinished games that will decide promotional positions in the group will be adjudicated. The players involved will send the record of the game (with the required result –win or draw–) and an analysis to their TD for adjudication no later than 15.09.2013.

The adjudication will be organized in such a way that all qualified players will be known by 15.11.2013

The second stage (semifinals or final) is expected to start on 01.01.2014 at the latest.

The final (if it will be possible to have an intermediate stage) is expected to start on 01.03.2016 at the latest.



Prize 1000 € for the first 4 players (500 €; 275 €, 150 €; 75 €), no tie break.

One book prize to all winners of the preliminary groups.



The first two players of each preliminary section will qualify for the World Cup semifinal.

Although the number of preliminary groups which each player may enter is unlimited, no player will qualify for more than two semifinal groups or more than one place in the final.


The following qualifications can be achieved in the final:


? The winner of the Diamond World Cup will qualify for a World Championship final, place 2-4 to World Championship Candidates (tie break applies);


? The winner of the Diamond World Cup Final will qualify for the final of the next World Cup Tournament (ICCF Tournament Rules, Article 3.6) and will gain the IM title (ICCF Tournament Rules, Article 8.6.(c));


? All other finalists qualify to World Championship semifinal;


? All participants in the final will qualify for the semifinal of the next World Cup Tournament (ICCF Tournament Rules, Article 3.6);


Member Federations are asked to give the tournament wide publicity to all their players.


We wish all participants many interesting games and new connections with CC friends in other countries, based on the spirit of friendship and the ICCF motto AMICI SUMUS.


Gian-Maria Tani

Central Tournament Leader


Valer Eugen Demian

ICCF Non-Title Tournaments Commissioner


Frank Geider

World Tournament Director


Log in

Forgot password

New Player