ICCF Veterans World Cup 4 - Announcement

Friday, April 1, 2011: Tournament Announcement





                                                                                                               1st April 2011

Fourth ICCF Veteran’s World Cup


The ICCF Congress in Bulgaria in 2008 decided that, following the great popularity of the first tournament amongst older players, new Veteran’s World Cups would be started in every year.


The Scottish CCA offered to organise the second, third and fourth VWC tournaments on behalf of ICCF working in collaboration with ICCF.  Special cup trophies will provided by the Scottish CCA to ICCF for winners of each tournament. The Semi-final stage of the Second Veterans World Cup will start on 1st June 2011, with qualifiers having already been notified.


The first stage of the Fourth ICCF Veteran’s World Cup will start on 1st September 2011.    


As with the 2nd and 3rd VWCs, the event will be organised in three stages, which will allow several players from each group stage to advance to the Semi-finals and Final. The number of promotions will depend on total entries received, but groups at each stage will comprise of 13 players (12 games) played by webserver with a rate of play of 10 moves in 40 days. Playing time in each stage will be 18 months, with a fixed closing date specified at the outset.


ICCF Veteran’s World Cups are open to all players who are 60 years old or more at the start date of the tournament.  Although the number of preliminary groups which each player may enter is unlimited, no player will qualify for more than two Semi-final groups or more than one place in the Final.


Players may enter through their National Federations (contact MF for amount of the entry fee) or, where eligible, via the ICCF Direct Entry system (for which fee chargeable is  19 Euros).


Entries via National Federations should contain player’s name, date of birth, Email address, ICCF ID and current rating and should be forwarded by Email to the Tournament Organiser Alan P. Borwell, Email:- alanborwell@iccf.com, to reach him before 1st July 2011.  It would be appreciated if Federations send entries “as received” and not delay them until closing date.


Entries from players who countries participate in the ICCF Direct Entry Scheme should send their entries, using the DE system.  Closing date for Direct Entries will also be 1st July 2011.


All veteran chess players are heartily invited to enter this tournament, both for the enjoyment of games and friendly contact/communication with senior players round the World.


Member Federations are asked to give the tournament wide publicity to veteran players.



Alan P. Borwell,                              Valer Eugen Demian,                       Frank Geider.

ICCF Honorary President,                ICCF Non Title Tournament             World Tournament

SCCA Honorary President               Commissioner                                   Director

Tournament Organiser                                             


Log in

Forgot password

New Player